MP3: Avant Kool – Efficient Composition

Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 12.21.20 PM

Avant Kool has been making some waves in Toronto for his Depeche Mode-indebted electro goth for a little over a year now. The weirdo pop project is on full display in “Efficient Composition,” with reverbed out and distant vocals, and a slow build to an eventually massive arpeggiated bassline and a completely out there synth-solo.

Avant Kool is often releasing snippets like these on his Soundcloud, and is turning into one of Toronto’s more prolific artists. It’s worthwhile listen to the other pieces and following the project’s development. No word on an official release as of yet, but there’s at least an album’s worth of material out there.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

MP3: Bossie – Tell It All


We officially have a new favourite pump-up song at the Silent Shout office. Need to get excited for your day? Listen to Bossie! This third single is every bit as big and sweet as the cotton candy the art reminds us of, and it will even leave you with energy instead of a sugar crash. We stand by our previous statement that Anne Douris’ project could be a pop sensation.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

MP3: Valois – Ça Sera


We’ve found ourselves to be consistent fans of the work of Charles Valois, but we haven’t heard much from the wonderfully melodramatic pop songwriter since 2013. So we’re very excited to learn that he’s relocated to Ottawa and has been working on a follow up to his 2012 debut album Girls, and has assembled a band and taken a more collaborative approach, even renaming the project to Valois. His second record Love Dies But You Won’t is a lovely short album that delves even further into electronic music, and as you’d expect, we’re down with that. Standout single “Ça Sera” is a heartfelt weird synthpop number that’s super-catchy. Every section is very hooky and you’ll probably humming this one all day. Our favourite song from this talented songwriter yet!

You can listen to or buy Love Dies But You Won’t from Valois on Bandcamp.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

MP3: RENDERS – I Am Gone


We’ve always been a fan of Kelly McMichael, especially her work as Rouge, so it’s very exciting to see her launching a new project this week, and a straight-up synthpop one at that! We’re very happy to meet RENDERS, and first single “I Am Gone” is a huge but crisp pop ballad with a monstrous synth bass. We need more!

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

MP3: Astro Screamer – Out of Pieces


Astro Screamer (formerly Dean Jones Armada) continues his foray into angsty gothic disco jams with his latest single “Out of Pieces.” The Windsor artist has a deft hand when it comes to production, and hits all the perfect notes of darker production: an unrelentingly evil bass line, creepy synth pads that are washed out throughout the song, gated tom fills and a persistent beat to keep the people moving.

We expect this is just a one-off from the project, but if you’re interested in hearing more, there’s a shit-load on his Soundcloud page that are well worth your time.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter