New Release | Silent Shout – Canada's Electronic Indie Music Blog

Category: New Release

New Release: RAMZI – BÉBiTES

Posted on September 4th, by Chuck in New Release


Following 2013’s etwal timoun and Dezombi, RAMZI returns with BÉBiTES, a stunning thirteen track album self-released on Phoebé Guillemot’s own imprint, Pygmy Animals. Produced between spring 2013-14, this expertly sequenced collection of leftfield vignettes showcases Guillemot in full command of her highly distinguished aesthetic. Stream the entire album above and discover why BÉBiTES is yet another welcomed addition to RAMZI’s brilliant discography.

Pick up a physical copy from Summer Cool or purchase a digital edition from RAMZI’s bandcamp.


New Release: Thomas – When I’m Weak, I’m Strong

Posted on July 2nd, by elena in New Release


The last time we heard from Thomas, the super swoon-worthy “Kissing” flirted its way up to the #20 spot on our list of the best songs of 2013. This album takes everything that was special about that song – breathy soul vocals, smooth 80s synths, a playful sense of humour – and expands it into a full-length gem of a journey.

We especially can’t get over the confident strut of “Shy” or the earnest declarations of love on the chorus of “Gather Round.” The songs come with some assists from musical friends like DIANA‘s Kieran Adams, Prince Nifty/Matt Smith, and Bernice‘s Robin Dann. But this is fully an album that could only come from the talented and inspired mind of Thom Gill. Sign us up for his fan club!

You can find the album over at Thomas’ Bandcamp for the ever-wonderful price of PWYC.


Video: SINS – Red Woman (Vocals by Vierance)

Posted on June 25th, by arp2600 in New Release, Video

DETH Records is an exciting new label founded by SINS in Toronto. With an impressive roster of electro-goth type acts, they chose to showcase that talent with the release of DETH VOL. 1, their first compilation album. The main single from that is an, of course, excellent collaboration between their two flagship acts: SINS and Vierance. Check out the video in all it’s gothy glory, then go and buy/stream the comp. We foresee exciting things coming this way from DETH.


New Release: JFM – Moult

Posted on June 13th, by Chuck in New Release


So far this year, JFM has released a full-length cassette, split 7″, and music video. Not sure how he does it, but he’s back again with Moult, his second album this year and first for Italian imprint Concrete Records. JFM is in fine form here, showcasing eight otherworldly beat-laden vignettes full of jagged vocal stabs, clipped kicks, and bruised celestial backdrops. It’s the perfect follow-up to Squat, which, as you may recall, we are rather fond of.

Pick up a copy of Moult from Concrete Records today!


New Release: Bataille Solaire – Jap

Posted on June 12th, by Chuck in New Release


Bataille Solaire is back with a super limited 7″ housed in a stylish sleeve and OBI strip. The two tracks on this objet d’art variously draw upon Bach-inspired Muzak, Japanese video game OSTs, vintage electrofunk and library music circa mid-80s/early-90s. Jap’s deft production, compositional depth, and historically conscious, yet forward-looking approach will surely impress fans of Rene Hell and Daniel Lopatin. But like those notable producers, Bataille Solaire’s music ultimately inhabits its own distinct soundworld.

Only 99 hand-numbered copies exist, so buy one now from Mind Records before it becomes a sought-after rarity on discogs.


New Release: Digits – The Day You Fight Back

Posted on June 10th, by digits in New Release


Notorious data manipulator and conniving opportunist Digits has released yet another record, testing everyone’s patience once more. This time, he brings acoustic guitars to the table and softens up his sound somewhat, especially on blatant adult-contemporary radio play “When You Look Inside.” Has Digits lost whatever little edge he might have once had?

Hold your nose and download it for free from his site.



Posted on June 4th, by Chuck in New Release


Toronto’s MYSTIC TRIANGLE recently issued EP, which is an understated title for such a captivating set of tracks. Brimming with washed out vocals, hazy synths, hypnotic guitars, and skeletal drums, EP evokes a myriad of musical references along the ethereal–goth–krautrock axis. Although the production is gorgeously anachronistic, MT excels at preserving space in their arrangements, so that — in contrast to lo-fi praxis — the attack and decay of each instrument are equally conspicuous and thus increasingly affective. In other words, this is a really great release!

Pick up EP at MYSTIC TRIANGLE’s bandcamp.


New Release: Wormwood – Microdot

Posted on May 27th, by Chuck in New Release

wormwood microdot

After making our Top Albums of 2013 with their stunning debut Sunfloating, London, Ontario’s Wormwood is back with an equally impressive sophomore release entitled Microdot. The duo’s estimable blend of Warp-inspired IDM, intricate sound design, haunting melodies, and modern classical flourishes caught the attention of Brooklyn-based imprint Punctum Records, who is releasing Microdot today!

This six-song EP rewards listeners with its ornate, through-composed works. Take, for example, opening track “Softly Light Limbs”; every peak and valley is packed with beautifully sculpted timbres, enchanting lyrics, and transcendental moments. On the other hand, pop-minded listeners will find much to love about dynamic closer “Morning”, an elegiac yet hopeful six-minute slice of hook-laden bliss. Microdot is an apt illustration of the duo’s approach, which you’d be remiss to overlook.

Stream Microdot at Wormwood’s Bandcamp and purchase a physical copy from Punctum Records. If you happen to be in Brooklyn this week, catch Wormwood live at Silent Barn, May 29.


MP3: Most Ghost – Un bouquet

Posted on May 6th, by bonesPOP in MP3, New Release


Who would have ever thought that interesting dark bedroom coldwave music would come out of Moncton, New Brunswick!? We sure didn’t. This is where Most Ghost steps in with her pale skin and dark rimmed glasses, budget vintage-y Casio keyboards and simple beats. It’s new, cool, cold, dark, and spacey and her whispery vocals mesmerize you into submission as they reel you in.  Singing in her mother tongue and dans la langue de Molière, we can hear and feel the effects of the long East Coast winters seeping through the music. Take a listen to “Un Bouquet,” her sparse ode to a coldwave beat, full of subtle religious imagery and overtones. It’s a little like if Baudelaire was into coldwave music movement and asked Most Ghost to sing a few of his passages over stripped down beats. We love it and look forward to hearing more from Most Ghost very soon.

If you’re on the East Coast she’ll be playing an electronic house show with Uaxycac and Paranerd at 100 Alma in Moncton Friday May 8th so click here for more info.


Pile of Best Albums: Home Alone – There’s a Light Coming Through

Posted on April 29th, by arp2600 in New Release, Pile of Best Albums

Home Alone Alnum

We knew from the first single that Home Alone was shooting for the moon with his second Orchid Tapes/Beko release, we are just glad that it worked. You get the sense of listening to an incredibly personal album from the Mississauga-based pothead, who–let’s face it–has matured sonically and lyrically since Teddybears and Weed, last year’s release. There’s a Light Coming Through is a beautifully serene and cohesive piece of work. Put it on when falling asleep, waking up, or driving around town late at night with your friends as if you’re in a 1990s music video. Regardless of how, when or where you listen to it, just make sure that you do, because this one of the strongest releases of the year-to-date.