Ice Cream – Love, Ice Cream

We’ve long been impressed by the consistently cool and original tunes penned by Toronto experimental electronic pop duo Ice Cream. They’d really taken things to another level this year with the menacing, atonal “Veronica” and the hypnotic no wave of “Receiver”. They’ve paired all the new jams with old now-classic favourites such as “Science” on their debut album Love, Ice Cream and the result is one of the most envelope-pushing, yet catchy, post-punk albums in recent memory.

Somehow within the noisy and often cacophonous arrangements, Carlyn Bezic and Amanda Crist always manage to find a way to include some confoundingly catchy melodies, whether on vocals or on synths. Every song explores a different dimension of their sound, and it’s endlessly interesting. One of the finest albums of the year, and worthy of the classics!

Love, Ice Cream is available now from Bad Actors.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

Video: Bile Sister – Scent, A Mental Concept

Bile Sister is a master at creating visually dense, warped and weird videos to reflect the Toronto-based project’s experimental approach to pop music. This new offering sends Julie Reich and David Jones to the beach, but they quickly get swallowed up by a glittery pink and baby blue space that looks like it could be an underwater prom set. (It’s actually an installation in Warkworth, ON, by Diana Lynn VanderMeulen.) The synth hook undulates back and forth as the visuals shift until the pair emerges, glitter on their cheeks and sun in the sky. It’s a journey we wouldn’t mind taking ourselves!

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

We’re huge fans of Peterborough’s Kelly McMichael, who began a new solo pop project last year as Renders. If you might recall, her smash “I Am Gone” was one of our favourite songs of 2015, and we’ve been eagerly awaiting new news from the project. This week, she announced the release of her debut EP and dropped a new single, “Running Through the Night”. It’s a hard-hitting dark dance track with some heavy synthwork that is simply impossible not to move to. In an interview with Chart Attack, McMichael discusses the song’s lyrics, a feminist call-to-arms against slut-shaming, rape culture, and victim-blaming. Genius electronic pop with a powerful, important message.

The Renders EP is available for pre-order now from Bandcamp. It’s out July 8, and we of course can’t wait.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

Motëm – Fluxus

Hamilton producer/M.C. Motëm continues to be one of the most unique voices this fair country has to offer. His simultaneously effervescent and languid hip-hop stylings are a constant in this world, and we wouldn’t have it any other way. “Fluxus” is the latest in a long-line of excellent singles from the Hamilton maestro, and, well, if you’re not familiar with Motëm yet, we envy you for being able to enjoy him here for the first time.

If one song isn’t enough–and how could it be?–there’s a treasure-trove of stuff to be found on his Soundcloud account. Including Songs in the Key of Motëm a new mixtape released last month.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

Premiere: Le Roi Crocodile – Night

Prolific Vancouver bedroom electronic pop artist Le Roi Crocodile keeps the semi-somnambulent hits coming in 2016 with “Night”, a dark, melancholy soft-pop single which we’re stoked to be premiering here today. Featuring his characteristic auto-tune, and his knack for simple, subtle arrangements, this time Le Roi kicks things up a notch by adding some background arpeggiated synths that really propel the tune forward in the effortlessly catchy chorus.

“Night” is the first single from a new album, which we absolutely can’t wait to hear. In the meantime, check out Le Roi Crocodile’s back catalogue on Soundcloud.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter