Video: Jessy Lanza – It Means I Love You

Extremely exciting news from Hamilton electro-R&B envelope-pusher Jessy Lanza: she’s releasing a second album, a long-awaited follow-up to her tremendously good debut Pull My Hair Back (one of our top ten albums of 2013). On the heels of her remarkable collaboration with Morgan Geist last year as The Galleria, the new record will be called Oh No and was co-written and co-produced with Jeremy Greenspan of Junior Boys. We’re pretty blown away by first single “It Means I Love You”: a killer minimal synthpop jam that incorporates Shangaan electro influences, and sounds utterly original. Great kaleidoscopic video too!

Oh No is out May 13 on Geej Recordings and Hyperdub, and we cannot wait. Jessy Lanza is on tour now in North America and Europe.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

Mix: Best of June 2015

jun15Mix: Best of June 2015

1. The Galleria – Calling Card
2. Maarten Bayliss – Controlled
3. Bad Channels – Sad Channels
4. Syzzors – Leeches
5. Brendan Philip – For You
6. Men I Trust – Break for Lovers feat. Helena
7. West Nile – #1FNDR
8. Above Top Secret – Ghost
9. Foxtrott – Driven
10. Ghostly Kisses – One
11. Gaiia – Suenara
12. Un Blonde – Something Else
13. JOOJ – Jessica
14. Tasseomancy – Black Milk Instrumental
15. Hush Pup – Hisyo’s Jungle
16. Dove – Set Us Free
17. Robert Loveless and the Loveland Band – Go Beyond

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

MP3: The Galleria – Calling Card

hanging_out.jpg.size.xxlarge.promoOntario’s reigning electronic pop artist might be none other than Hamilton’s Jessy Lanza, and she’s been plenty busy since 2013’s top 10-ranking album Pull My Hair Back. But the single that dropped this week could be the best of her post-LP releases. She’s collaborating with none other than Morgan freaking Geist in a new project called The Galleria, and my goodness does “Calling Card” hit hard. More in your face than Lanza’s more subtle solo work, that aggressive bass synth makes us move! This should tide us over quite nicely until Lanza’s surely-brilliant next album.

“Calling Card” is available with b-side “Mezzanine” from iTunes.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

Video: Jessy Lanza – Strange Emotion (Live)

Jessy Lanza, probably THE breakout artist in 2013, just released this fantastic Yours Truly session for Pull Your Hair Back highlight “Strange Emotion.” The performance begins at 1:54.

And check out Silent Shout’s interview with Jessy from last October, where she discusses her favourite music of 2013.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

Silent Shoutouts: Jessy Lanza

Jessy_Hyper_B1_0221-photo credit Tim Saccenti

Hamilton’s Jessy Lanza has had a bit of a meteoric rise to fame, and deservedly so. Could her music be any more cutting edge? For a long time she’s been the Hammer’s go-to opening artist for all the best visiting electronic musicians, like Trust, Diamond Rings, and Miracle Fortress. After signing to prestigious UK label Hyperdub and releasing Pull My Hair Back, the spotlight has been shining brightly on her. Working with Jeremy Greenspan of Junior Boys as co-writer and co-producer, her debut album has not left our figurative tapedecks since we got our grimy paws on it. Pitchfork hype? Yep. Resident Advisor features? Check. Toronto Star love? Uh-huh. The “Kathy Lee” music video is one of the best of the year, no question.

Pull Your Hair Back is available now from iTunes, and you won’t hear another forward-thinking electronic pop release better than it this year. Jessy plays the Garrison in Toronto on Saturday November 2, and tickets are available here.

Here are Jessy’s Silent Shoutout picks for under-the-radar music you should check out:

Huren (aka Dave Foster) is from Hamilton and is a great lyricist.

Tee Flii is one my favourite r&b singers right now and this track is produced by DJ Mustard who is also amazing. Tee Flii also calls girls “annies” which is cute.

This video was shot in Hamilton in February and captures everything I love about the city.

I am really into the new direction Bieber has taken.

This track has the power to take you to all sorts of different places.

Jessy Lanza is on Facebook and Twitter. Follow her.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter