Premiere: Rational Youth – Future Past Tense

Rational Youth are legendary figures to Canadian synth-pop heads. Their debut LP Cold War Night Life released in 1986 is one of the finest examples of the strength of Canada’s new wave scene in the 80s. Now, after a few line-up changes, we at Silent Shout are thrilled the present the premiere of their first EP since 1999. Future Past Tense lives up to their stellar reputation and sounds simultaneously retro and modern at the same time. All the core things we loved about Rational Youth remains in tact: the analog synths, hook-laden choruses, synth solos galore and more!

The band is now an Ottawa-based husband/wife duo featuring Gaenor and Tracey Howe (also the former guitarist for Men Without Hats), but the record is chock-a-block with amazing sounds despite the sparse line-up. Every track is a throwback in the best possible way. EP opener “This Side of the Border” sounds like something straight from the 80s, and the poppy angst of “Here It Comes Again” showcases some fine early goth sentiments while maintaining a joie-de-vivre synth-pop line.

Future Past Tense is available on 10″ vinyl in June via their Bandcamp and Artoffact Records, with 200 limited-edition copies on clear vinyl.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

Pipahauntas – Callin’ In

This is our first time posting about Pipahauntas, the electronic pop solo project of Sam Pippa, a member of Ottawa bands Blue Angel and Organ Eyes. But we’ve been missing out! Her Soundcloud is full of wonderful hazy lo-fi bedroom pop, and is definitely worth exploring. A week ago, she teamed up with Ottawa-born, Montreal-based DJ/producer High Fantasy (aka Caleb Latreille) on a new single. “Callin’ In” is a crisp, airy track that’s quite short but excellent, featuring spare guitar over a big clap, with Pippa’s beautiful vocals and harmonies soaring atop the mix. It’s a wonderful indie R&B jam from two very promising talents, and we hope they collaborate again!

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

#43: Scary Bear Soundtrack – Victoria Island

“Victoria Island” is one of the standout songs from Ovayok Road from Cambridge Bay/Ottawa synthpop project Scary Bear Soundtrack, an album released earlier this year. The track is a super-hooky and propulsive synth-pop number with endless replay value and we couldn’t be more impressed.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter